Friday, 21 July 2017

India's sole ATP 250 event, held in the first week of the season, will be held at a new venue from 2018. The tournament moves from its current location at SDAT Stadium in Nungambakkam, Chennai, to Pune. The Chennai Open will be renamed Maharashtra Open.

 The move was announced by tournament right-holders IMG-Reliance and the Maharashtra State Lawn Tennis Association (MSLTA) on Thursday. 

 "We welcome the world class ATP tournament to our state," said Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis. "We are happy to host the Maharashtra Open and sure that we will take it to newer heights by bringing in an elite field every year."

 "We would like to thank everyone in Tamil Nadu, especially our innumerable fans, the Tamil Nadu government and the Tamil Nadu Tennis Association for making the Chennai Open such a grand success," IMG-Reliance's spokesperson said. 

 In 2014, Wawrinka credited winning Chennai Open as a good preparation for his Australian Open win later in the month. India's Leander Paes and Mahesh Bhupathi forged their formidable partnership at the Chennai Open, before they went on to conquer the world.

 The tournament has seen home favourites Somdev Devvarman, Yuki Bhambri, Saketh Myneni and Ramkumar Ramanathan perform at a high standard with Devvarman even making it to the final in 2009.

Rohan Bopanna and Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan beat Purav Raja and Divij Sharan in front of a packed crowd.
Rea es:

0 coment rios:

Post a Comment

Search This Blog

Search This Blog

Blog Archive